Department of Textiles & Handloom

Textile Sector

o    Total Area of Cotton Cultivation in the State – 1.03 lakh hectares (approx.)

o    Total production – 3.00 lakh bales(approx.) (each bale – 170 kg. clean cotton)

o    Major districts under Cotton cultivation- Kalahandi, Bolangir, Rayagada & Koraput


  • SPINFED  (Spinning Mills Federation)


    o    Apex Body of Spinning Mills/Powerlooms.

    o     Established in the year 1984 with an objective to monitor the physical and financial activities of Spinning Mills & Powerlooms. 

    o    Provides finance, technical and administrative guidance to the member units. 

    o    Also acts as Nodal Agency for privatisation/ joint venture/liquidation of the units.

    Cooperative Spinning Mills:- 7

    o    Odisha  Weavers Coop. Spinning Mills Ltd., Tora, Baragarh

    -      Under process of Privatisation through P.E. Department

    o    Kalinga Weavers Coop. Spinning Mills Ltd., Govindpur, Dhenkanal

    -      Under process of privatisation through P.E. Department

    o    Shree Gopinath Weavers Coop. Spn. Mills Ltd., Baliapal, Balasore

    -      Under process  of privatisation through P.E. Department

    o    Utkal Weavers Coop. Spinning Mills Ltd., Khurdha

    -      Under process of liquidation.

    o    Shree Jagannath Weavers Coop. Spn. Mills Ltd., Nuapatna, Cuttack

    -      Under  process of liquidation.

    o    Shree Sarala Weavers Coop. Spinning Mills Ltd., Tirtol, Jagatsinghpur

    -      Under process of liquidation.

    o    Konark Cotton Growers Coop. Spinning Mills, Kesinga, Kalahandi

    -      Running. Only ginning & pressing work is going on.

    Co-operative Powerlooms:-  11

    o    Shree Parvati Powerloom WCS Ltd., Rahama, Jagatsinghpur – Under liquidation

    o    Baldevjew Powerloom WCS Ltd., Kendrapara                       -  Under liquidation

    o    Maa Bauti Powerloom WCS Ltd., Athagarh                           – Under liquidation

    o    Siminoi Sizing Unit, Dhenkanal                                           - Under liquidation

    o    Barunei Powerloom WCS Ltd., Bajapur, Khurdha                  - Under privatisation

    o    Berhampur Powerloom WCS Ltd., Berhampur                       - Under privatisation

    o    Chhatia Weaving Mills, Chhatia                                            - Under privatisation

    o    Ramnagar Powerloom WCS Ltd., Baragarh                           - Under privatisation

    o    Baripada Powerloom WCS Ltd., Takatpur, Baripada - Under privatisation, (functioning on lease basis)


    o    Mahalaxmi Powerloom WCS Ltd., Kundukela, Sundargarh      - Under privatisation

    o    Manikeswari Powerloom WCS Ltd., Raisinghpur, Bhawanipatna - Under liquidation


    Textile Mills:- 3

    o    New Mayurbhanj Textiles Mills, Baripada     - Under liquidation

    o    Bhaskar Textiles Mills Ltd., Jharsuguda       - Under liquidation

    o    Odisha Textiles Mills (OTM), Choudwar       - Under liquidation



    1. Directorate of Textiles & Handlooms, Odisha, Satyanagar, Bhubaneswar.

    2. Directorate of Handicrafts & Cottage Industries, Odisha, Unit-5, Bhubaneswar.

    3. Odisha State Handloom Weavers Coop. Societies Ltd.(Boyanika), Nehru Marg, Bhubaneswar.

    4. Sambalpuri Bastralaya Handlooms Cooperative Society Ltd., Baragarh.

    5. Odisha State Cooperative Handicrafts Corporation Ltd.(Utkalika), Rasulgarh, Bhubaneswar.

    6. Odisha State Tassar & Silk Federation Ltd.(SERIFED), Sahidnagar,  Bhubaneswar.

    7.  Odisha State Handlooms Development Corporation Ltd. (OSHDC), Janapath, Bhubaneswar    (Under Liquidation)

     8.  Odisha Spinning Mills Federation Ltd.(SPINFED), Unit-IX, Bhubaneswar.

     9. State Institute for Development of Arts & Crafts (SIDAC), Gandamunda, Bhubaneswar.

    10. State Agency for Development of Handloom Clusters (SADHAC), Gandamunda, Bhubaneswar.

    (Within SIDAC Complex)


Go to Top
Copyright@Textile&Handloom2015. All right reserved