Department of Textiles & Handloom



The Orissa Cooperative Tasar & Silk Federation (SERIFED) was established in 1962 as State level Apex organisation and has been functioning under Cooperative Acts and Rules of Government of Orissa. It has its own bye-laws to carryout its transactions which has been ammended from time to time. It is managed by a Managing Committee headed by the President and consists of 25 members elected from among the member cooperative Societies and as well as representatives of Govt. of Orissa. The Director of Textiles and Handlooms, Govt. of Orissa is one of the members of Managing committee as well as the Addl. Registrar of Cooperative Societies. The Regional Development Officer, Central Silk Board, Govt. of India is also a Member of managing committee. The Managing Director Orissa State Cooperative Bank is a nominated member to the Board of Management of the SERIFED.

The membership of the SERIFED is limited to Govt. registered Primary Cooperative Societies of Tasar, Mulberry, Eri and Weaving sector as well as representatives from Govt. of Orissa and other agencies. At present there are 161 members.

At present 39280 farmers in tasar through 62 nos. of Primary TRCS, 7320 farmers in Mulberry through 36 MRCS and 8230 weavers through 61 WCS are getting proper marketing facilities to sale their products through SERIFED. At present the Principal Secretary to Govt. of Orissa in Textiles and Handloom Deptt. is the President – cum – Management in-charge of  SERIFED.

Organisation :

The Head Office of the Society is organised in to 6 sections such as Statutory, Administration, Project & Development, Accounts and Audit & Engineering. It has 52 nos. of qualified experienced and skilled staff who manages the business of the society.

It has 9 branch offices at Baripada, Keonjhar, Lahunipada, Gopalpur, Fakirpur, Nuapatana, Mahendragarh, Sunabeda  & Mancheswar. It has 4 exclusive modern showrooms for sale of silk & cotton fabrics at Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Puri. The Society has two multiend filature silk reeling and twisting factories at Mahendragarh in Gajapati district and Sunabeda in Koraput district established with financial assistance from N.C.D.C. and Government of Orissa.

At Nuapatana tasar reeling twisting and mulberry reeling unit is functioning. A common facility centre (CFC) has been established with financial assistance from Central Silk Board for silk yarn dyeing and fabric processing.


Go to Top
Copyright@Textile&Handloom2015. All right reserved